Managing Access to Columns

There may be cases when you want to limit access to certain information. For example, you store detailed project descriptions in the Projects table, but only Project Managers and Admins should be able to modify this information. Therefore, you may limit access to Project columns for Team Members and Viewers. The TeamDesk system makes it possible to set access rights to the data stored in columns. The mode of data handling is set separately for every role in the system.

You can set access to one column via column properties or manage access to many columns via the column access form.

To set column access for one column:

  1. Click the Setup link at the top right corner of the window.

  2. Select the table you need.

  3. From the setup menu, choose Columns > Customize existing columns. All columns created in a table will be displayed as a list.

  4. Edit the column you need, check the Restrict access right by role option, and set the column access for each role.

Managing Columns Access

To manage access to many columns via the column access form:

  1. Click the Setup link at the top right corner of the window.

  2. Select the table you need.

  3. From the setup menu, select Columns > Manage access for columns. The system will display the Column Access form:
    Column access form

  4. Select the necessary access value for every column of a table for corresponding roles. If you expand the dropdown next to the column name or role name, you can set the access for all cells in a row / column.
    Quick filter allows you to hide rows and columns with identical access modes. For example, unselecting View will hide the columns with such access setting.

  5. Click the Save button to save specified access rights.

The TeamDesk system uses the 'minimizing' mode to work with access rights: that is, if editing table records is prohibited, the user will not be able to change column data even if the access rights for the column are set to View/Modify.

Please note that Columns Access does not affect Workflow Actions. Only the access to a custom button or a trigger comprising the action is taken into account by the system.