Adding New User Roles

To add a new user role:

  1. Click the Setup link in the top right corner of the window.

  2. Select the Database tab.

  3. Click Sharing/Roles > Define and manage roles in the setup menu. The system will display a list of already existing user roles.

  4. Click the New button at the top of the list. The following form will appear:

    New Role

  5. Fill in the general and default options:

    • Name: Enter a name for the new user role.

    • Description: Specify the major functions of the role or enter any other descriptive text.

    • Access for New Tables: This option defines the default role access for database tables. When the new role is created, the default table access is valid for all tables. If you change the Access for New Tables option for the existing role, it will be valid only for new tables created after this change.

      The following options are available:

      • Full Access: This option is set by default.
      • Read Only: Restricts access so users with this role can only view the data but cannot change it.
      • No Access: Users with this role can’t access the data.