Managing External Users

An external user is a person who is not an employee or similar personnel of your company or its affiliates and is not someone to whom you provide hosted services. The External Users Pack permits access by any number of external users to your database, as long as that access is for the benefit of your company and not the external user.

For example, if you want to share documentation with your customers or plan and control joint events with your partners, to improve communications with partners or clients, allow them to participate in your databases. Just use the External User feature, giving your customers access to relevant information in your database according to their Roles.

External Users will be logging in under their individual logins/passwords, so you’ll be able to assign them individual roles that precisely restrict their access to the system. External Users have access to the data only but not to the Setup mode.

To let an unlimited number of your external users log right into the system, tick the External User checkbox when you share the database with them.

The External User checkbox can be checked only if the External Users pack is included in your database. The External Users Pack can be added to the Team Edition or the Enterprise Edition, but not to the Starter Edition.

Users: Quick Share

All external users are listed in the user list, where a database owner or admin can manage all database users, for example, change their roles and/or other options.

Users List

Please note if the External User option is assigned to a user, it prevents such a user from access to the setup mode of your database, so only the No Access option will be shown in the Setup Permission field after saving.